U-16's defeated in Connacht Final

posted 19 Nov 2013, 01:01 by Unknown user   [ updated 19 Nov 2013, 01:09 ]

McHugh points the way for Easkey/St Farnans Connacht title win

Connacht Under 16 Hurling Final


Report from Mike O'Connor - GAA Development Officer NUIG

Success on a hurling front can at times be a lonely neighbour when Sligo clubs go on tour but at the Connacht GAA centre, Bekanon Saturday there was not one but two Sligo GAA units in moods of delirum. Calry St Josephs captured the Connacht junior crown with a win over An Spiddeal. First up however was the meeting at Under 16 level of Abbeyknockmoy and Easkey/St Farnans. The pre-match feeling was that Abbeyknockmoy would have enough craft and experience garnered in Galway club hurling to overcome their north-eastern opposition yet the Sligo outfit had a solid strong side with an accurate free-taker and on the day this factor proved crucial.

The normal strong wind that can invade without permission games in Bekan was in the main absent for this encounter. A stiff breeze was in place but had minimal effect on the outcome of this keenly contested side that witnessed periods of dominance by both sides.

Gaining a foothold on proceedings was vital in the early exchanges for the Sligo who had defeated the Roscommon and Leitrim champions en route to the deciderIn the Club U16 Championship, Easkey had successive victories over Cluainin, Tooreen and Padraig Pearses in the Connacht Championship, their opponents Abbeyknockmoy successfully come through from a competitive club scene in Galway. Scores from play were at a premium in Bekan and Joe McHugh took on the mantle of scorer in chief tagging on the entire Easkey tally in the first half. The full forward struck five with two coming from play. Abbeyknockmoy had a number of close misses chasing the elusive first half goal and had to be satisfied with three points courtesy of Fionnan Garvey, Cathal Cooley and Colm Flaherty. With the Easkey defence in fine form led by Ian Barrett and Patrick Flynn they held a (0-5) to (0-3) interval lead with Abbeyknockmoy even at this stage requiring goals to bolster their faltering title challenge.

As the second half matured Abbeyknockmoy struck for the goals as required with Callum Mulry who moved upfield in an attempt to add potency to the attack and Finnian Garvey on target. Normally two goals would have propelled the team benefitting into winning the game but on this occasion Abbeyknockmoy failed to score even a single second half point. With McHugh once again on form hitting six second half scores and a vital effort from Mikey Gordon there was no catching the champions elect.

The winners had solid displays from Kieran Devanney, Ian Barrett, Patrick Flynn, Eamonn Kilgannon, Finnian Cawley, Mikey Gordon, man of the match Joe McHugh and Iarla Connor. Abbeyknockmoy managed just five scores over the hour and this cost them the chance to take the title despite the best efforts of Fionnan Garvey, Caelum Mulry, Dillon Moran, Jason Flaherty, Lee Cosgrove, Barry Loftus and Cathal Cooley.

Easkey/St Farnans: Kieran Devanney, Ian Barrett, Fergal Ryan, Patrick Flynn, Iarla Connor, Patrick O’Connor, Eamonn Kilgannon, Finnian Cawley, Hayden Gilroy, Chandler McGuinness, Mikey Gordon(0-1), Thomas Whitty, Gavin Calpin, Joe McHugh(0-11, 8f), Conor Gordon. Subs used: Rory McHugh, Stevie Mulligan, James Weir, Jack Kelly.

Abbeyknockmoy: Glenn Moran, Dylan Keane, Caelum Mulry(1-0), Dillon Moran, Barry Loftus, John McHugh, Conor Mannion, Fionnan Garvey(1-1, 1 65’), Jason Flaherty, Joey Boyle, Eric Neilan, Lee Cosgrave, Mark McDonagh, Liam McCarthy, Colm Flaherty(0-1). Subs used: Cathal Cooley(0-1) for McDonagh

After the game the Connacht Under 16 hurling trophy was presented to joint captains Hayden Gilroy and Finnian Cawley by Connacht coiste Iomana vice chairman Stephen Cahalan amid great scenes of emotion and delight for Easkey/St Farnans suppporters, players and mentors alike.

1 Glenn Moran, 2 Dylan Keane, 3 Caelum Mulry, 4 Dillon Moran, 5 Barry Loftus, 6 John McHugh, 7 Conor Mannion, 8 Fionnan Garvey, 9 Jason Flaherty, 10 Joey Boyle
11 Eoghan Maher, 12 Lee Cosgrove, 13 Mark McDonagh, 14 Liam McCarthy, 15 Colm Flaherty, 16 Tom Mulry, 17 Eric Neilan, 18 Tony King, 19 Ryan Cosgrove, 20 Philip Muldowney, 21 Dillon Reynolds, 22 Cathal Cooley, 23 Dara Coleman, 24 Matt Cosgrove, 25 Martin Finn

Team Management: Manager: Sean Moran, Coach: Pat Joyce, Selectors: Dave Carton, Declan Molloy