Club News‎ > ‎2014 Archive Notes‎ > ‎

12th of November 2014 Club Notes

posted 11 Nov 2014, 01:32 by abbeyknockmoy gaa   [ updated 17 Jan 2015, 11:38 ]

There was no jackpot winner in this week's Crumlin Park House & Resource Centre Sponsored lotto. Congratulations to Alex Slattery, Garrafaun, Dunmore who match three numbers and receives €40. The numbers drawn were 1, 13, 15 & 23. Next week's draw for €3,100 will take place in the Woodside.  


The hurling AGM has been fixed for Sunday the 23rd of November at 5pm in the Clubhouse. All welcome. Please submit any outstanding invoices to the Club Treasurers, Catherine Forde or Frank Fahy, by Thursday 13th November. Anyone wishing to table a motion for discussion at the AGM are asked to send their motion in writing to the club no later than the 18th of November.


The eagerly awaited book on the history of Abbeyknockmoy Hurling Club, compiled by Catherine Forde, will be launched at our AGM on the 23rd November. The 300 page book is packed with match reports from throughout the years and over 300 photographs. It details the history of Hurling in the area from the 1880's to the present day as well as the history of Abbeyknockmoy Handball Club and Abbeyknockmoy Camogie Club. It is hoped that everybody associated with the Club throughout the years will find themselves in the book. More details to follow next week.


This year we decided to continue our club calendar and we have received a great response from our local businesses who have taken an advertising spot on a club calendar for 2015. The calendars will be available free of charge locally throughout the local community. Closing date to avail of a slot is Thursday 20th of November. Please contact Frank Fahy for further details on 086-3060120


The Camogie Club A.G.M was held last Friday with a good number in attendance. The club chairman, Frank Gannon opened the meeting by thanking everyone for attending and then a moments silence was held to acknowledge those who passed away during the year. Once the meeting got underway the chairman thanked coaches, club officers, parents and all who helped in some capacity during the year & he also noted the generosity of those who contributed and sponsored the club during the year. He also made special mention to the coaches who helped with the schools training programme & also to Mary Coleman & Maureen Fahy who were the coordinators for the Schools Tournament. The highlight this year was the progress of the two U10s teams, a lot was learned during the year and we hope to continue on next year in the same fashion with the 10s & 12s. The chairman noted that our membership numbers are up on last year & would like to see this increase again next year. Finally, he thanked the secretary, registrar & treasurer for their work throughout the year.

The Secretary, Sharon Gannon again conveyed her thanks to all who support the club during the year from the parents who make up the post training fruit and water, wash jerseys, help with bucket collection and all the other numerous tasks which are too many to Classic Air who are just after sponsoring a set of jerseys for next year’s U12 team, St. Jarlaths Credit Union who every year have generously contributed to the 'Run in the Woods', Declan Ganley & also John Williams who has attended many club matches during the year taking team photos. Many of these can be seen on the club facebook page as well as on his own page Ballyglunin Photo Studio. We are grateful for his time, as its moments like these that we will look back on in years to come and it's great to have the pictures that tell their own stories.

Also, thanks to Gerry Kinnane who sponsored the end of season Loom Bands, it was very much appreciated. The meeting continued with team report from each manager, followed by nominations, proposals & A.O.B. The newly elected committee are: Chairman - Frank Gannon, Secretary - Sharon Gannon, Treasurer - TBC, PRO - Sharon Gannon & Damien Lee, Development Officer -  Sean McGann, Childrens Officer - Teresa & Lesley Keary, Registrar - Sharon Gannon, Co. Board Delegate - Cyril Murphy & Adrian Hovenden, North Board Delegate - Sean McGann, U8 Manager - Tom Feeney, U10 Manager - Frank Gannon, U12 Manager - Damien Lee with Sean & Cyril, U14 Manager - TBC, U16 Manager - Ger Rabbitte with Caroline & Frank, Junior B Manager – TBC. We look forward to the coming year & again would like to just thank everyone who have supported the club.​